New Football Hall of Famers Ed Reed, Champ Bailey and Ty Law Get Emotional

Posted on

In 2013 in his hometown, New Orleans, the Ravens won the Super Bowl.

Bailey played for Washington and Denver in his 15-year career, and was a force in each of those seasons. He intercepted 54 passes, including one against New England that he returned for 100 yards in the 2005 divisional playoffs.

A 12-time Pro Bowler, a record for the position, and three-time All-Pro who joined Reed on the All-Decade Team, Bailey was the seventh overall pick by Washington in 1999. He was dealt to Denver in 2004 for running back Clinton Portis in a steal for the Broncos.

Bailey credited the Hall of Fame cornerbacks Darrell Green and Deion Sanders, mentors with the Redskins, for setting his foundation in the pros. He added that he was “consumed by the game” that “gives a person discipline and perseverance,” but that it did not prepare you for “real life.”

Referring to his fellow African-Americans, Bailey asked that everyone listen “when we tell you about our fears.”

He added: “When we tell you there are many challenges we face because of the color of our skin, please listen. And please do not get caught up in how the message is delivered. If we start listening, there is no limit to the progress we can make.”

ALSO READ :  A Sport’s Reckoning - The New York Times

A fourth defensive back, Johnny Robinson, was selected for induction by the seniors committee. Robinson, who had 57 interceptions, became the sixth member of the Kansas City Chiefs’ dominant defense of the 1960s to be enshrined.

Kevin Mawae, Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt were also inducted.

Mawae, a former Jet who also played for Seattle and Tennessee, was the center on the N.F.L. All-Decade team for the 2000s and was a three-time All-Pro and eight-time Pro Bowl performer. He is the first player of Hawaiian descent in the Hall and the second Polynesian member, following Junior Seau.

Source link

Recommended for you